Smoothies and Muffins

Well, hello there!

This morning got off to a bit of a slow start, but quickly picked up once I went for a little jog.

The best part about my next half marathon coming up {less than two weeks away} is that I’m starting to taper! Woohoo! This morning’s run was just a little over 3 miles. Enough to get my heart pumping and day off to a good start. It’s funny how much your mentality changes once you start going for seriously long runs. I used to feel ridiculously accomplished if I was able to run 3 whole miles without stopping… now it barely takes any effort at all! All in the training! 

Image

                                     Running kicks

 

Before the run, I knew that I just had to use the overly ripe bananas that were staring me down on the counter. Banana nut muffins must be made! Before I get to that though, I was hungry. Decided to bust out the frozen fruit and made Paul and I both quadruple berry smoothies with a scoop of protein powder to hold us over until the muffins were finished. I love me some fresh smoothies!

Image

                         Quadruple Berry Smoothies

The muffins I made were from a recipe found on the Cooking Light website: Banana Nut Muffins with Oatmeal Streusel

They’re not bad! I do; however, think next time I would melt the butter for the streusel because some of it ended up dry. But overall, good recipe.

Image

                       Finished Banana Nut Muffins

Now to switch topics a little… Because it is Monday, I want to share something funny that happened last night…

Image

                                         Mia petting me

There I am, clearly asleep. Apparently Mia decided that she was going to return the favor of me petting her all night. She was actually petting my head as I slept! Looks like my cat loves me as much as I love her 🙂 

 

PRODUCT SPOTLIGHT

I would like to share some of my favorite products on a {mostly} daily basis. I figure that if I really like something, maybe some of you will too! Today’s feature is a product that I originally found this past summer at Pike Place Market in Seattle. From the very first time I used it, I have been sold. Moon Valley Organics makes the BEST lip balm I have ever used in my life {and I’m a lip balm junkie}! It can be ordered online if you’re not in the area, such as myself. I could not recommend this more highly. 

Image

                    Moon Valley Organics Herbal Lip Balm

Happy Monday to everyone!

Leave a Reply

