Burglar Scare

Sorry I missed writing yesterday! It was an emotionally volatile day and one of those instances when I felt “if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all” rang true. Nothing “bad” per se happened, but my boyfriend left to go work halfway across the country for several weeks up to several months. Needless to say, I was pretty sad. Just have to keep reminding myself it’s for the best, because it truly is. Darn student loans starting…

Anyway, my spirits are higher today… although you might not think so after what happened last night.

MIDDLE OF NIGHT WAKE-UP CALL

I had gone to bed early, with my plan to hit up the early BodyPump class again in full force! I had packed ahead my clothes for school, breakfast, gym wear, the whole nine yards. At 3:30 in the morning, both Lola and Ellie {our female goldendoodles} started going ballistic. Lola was in my room and Ellie was in my sister’s room, so it is not possible that they were fighting or playing. Waking up like that is never fun and had my heart racing. I crept over to my window and peered out stealthily {or so I believe} to see why the dogs were barking and growling so furiously. And I saw… nothing.

Of course, my mind jumps to conclusions and thinks “SOMEBODY BROKE IN! THEY’LL KILL ME” because I’m not dramatic at all in emergency situations. I went back into my bed, plotting where to hide if need be. All the while, the dogs continue to go crazy for a full half hour. I’m not talking average barking, either. It was savage I’m-protecting-my-house barking. And I’m too much of a wimp to go investigate because, hello, I could potentially die. So… I laid there.

I eventually dozed back off for maybe half an hour until my alarm for the gym went off. My thought was “I am NOT going downstairs alone or outside to my car. I’ll die” {Notice a theme with me? Major fear of death over here} I still wasn’t comfortable about a possible confrontation {although realistically, chances of that happening would be slim}. So I went back to bed instead, until I had to get up for class.

Once it was getting light, I felt better about leaving my safe-haven of a room and ventured downstairs. I was hoping for the best while expecting the worst. Luckily, everything was accounted for and all of the locks were still in-tact.

So the big question is: what were they barking at?!? My best guess is a deer or some type of larger animal in the woods. I’ll never know, I suppose. Although it was a false-alarm, it was still scary! Especially for someone as scared as I am.

SCARDY CAT KRISTI

While I am on the topic, I’ll tell you a not-so-secret secret with me. I am afraid of a lot. Like, seriously a lot. The one people find most intriguing is I cannot watch or read Harry Potter because it scares me. How do I know this? When the first book came out when I was in fourth grade, my aunt bought it for me. I was excited to start reading! It was the cool thing to do!

Well, that little best seller ruined my life for at least two years. I had to sleep with my tv on all night, every night. I wouldn’t enter into a dark room. I was afraid of creatures that didn’t even exist. And the kicker: I was absolutely convinced that Voldemort was going to end up on the back of my head. In the shower, I would keep on hand on the back of my head at all times because I thought that if I didn’t, he would be there. I was a petrified little girl and have J.K. Rowling to thank.

So… that’s that. And if you say “You should give it a try now! You’ll like it!” You are wrong. The main ride in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter? I closed my eyes for 75% of it after waiting in line for 2 hours. Yeah, not happening. Just isn’t my thing.

I hope your night was much more normal than mine!

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

  • Do you have an irrational fear?
  • Do your dogs go crazy in the middle of the night ever?
3 thoughts on “Burglar Scare

  1. Harry Potter can be scary if exposed to younger children… but let me assure you that it is not as scary as it seems.

    I’m a scaredy cat too, to horror movies especially. I once was forced to watch The Ring with my friends and I could not take a shower without fearing for my life. I also had trouble sleeping after watching Paranormal Activity. Hence, I stay away from horror films at all cost.

  2. Pingback: Running Sweet Tooth

Leave a Reply

