Friday, Friday

Happy Friday!

THE DRIVE THAT WOULDN’T END

Yesterday afternoon I had to drive my sister {Kayla} back to college. She recently had back surgery and was recuperating at home for a few days. Her school is about an hour and forty-five minutes away from our house. I figured I would be able to make it back before the gym class and I would be able to go {since I’m pathetic and was too scared to venture downstairs yesterday morning}.

Image

Bye Kayla!

Well… unfortunately traffic got the best of me. What should have been a 3:30-4 hour drive turned into a 5+ hour drive. I was listening to different radio traffic updates and Atlanta traffic was majorly backed up and they had no likely reason. Just several small accidents. Needless to say, I finally arrived home and missed the class. Sad day 😦

WORKOUT

This morning got off to a good start with a little time in the gym! I began with 30 minutes on the elliptical to get my blood flowing and muscles warmed up, followed by the BodyPump class! I’m not sure why, but the class was absolutely packed today. I don’t think another person could have squeezed in if they wanted to. Maybe I’m just getting spoiled by attending the early morning class that is so spacious and wonderful. Regardless, it was still great!

CRANIMALS {Crazy Animals}

Our pets seem to be a little confused. Here are a few pictures to better illustrate what I mean…

Image

Miss Lola

Lola seems to think she is human. She would be heart-broken if she ever found out she is a dog!

Image

Bailey

Bailey seems to think she is a dog. The cat water bowls do not suffice… she wants the dog water! Always.

LUNCH

My lunch was a thrown-together masterpiece this afternoon. We have embarrassingly little food to work with right now and I am being forced to be creative when it comes to mealtime lately. Today, I had the brilliant idea to make a “tortilla pizza.” I think the recipe goes without explaining, but I used a single tortilla, spread a thin layer of sauce on top, lightly sprinkled garlic and onion powder over the sauce {I don’t think jarred sauces ever have enough flavor}, and covered the sauce with shredded cheese. I used an Italian blend cheese as well as sharp cheddar because, well, it’s what we had. My toppings of choice consisted of cup up pieces of deli ham and some bell pepper chunks. I put the oven on the high broil setting and had it in there as long as it took the cheese to melt completely. Easy peasy {and cheesy}! I was pleased with my efforts!

Image

Tortilla Pizza

It was actually really good! The only thing I would do differently next time would be to bake the tortilla first for a minute or two to firm it up. Otherwise, this is a great thing to make when in a food bind 🙂

Have a fantastic weekend!

2 thoughts on “Friday, Friday

  1. Bailey has a really impressive mane! Haha. Gorgeous cat. I love the elliptical machine, it’s been far too long since I was in a gym to use one… such a shame they’re so expensive.

    Thrown together recipes are the best, aren’t they?! I’d never thought of making a tortilla pizza, but I think this could seriously go somewhere… yum, whole wheat tortillas, cheese, avocados…

    Hope you have great weekend!

Leave a Reply

