My Perfect Paradoxical Sunday

Hi all!

This morning began with the sound of rain. Lots and lots of rain.

I knew I had to get in at least an 8 mile run, seeing as how my last half marathon of the season will be here in a week! {I refuse to run in the summer and early fall. The heat makes it a miserable experience for me}

WORKOUT

I decided that instead of fighting the monsoon occurring outside, that I would complete these miles at the gym. I know what you’re thinking… “8 miles on a treadmill? BORING.” And you would be correct! But fear not, I had a little plan in mind. We have a “Cardio Cinema” at my gym {seriously, my gym is the best} and I was hoping to snag a treadmill in there and watching a movie as I ran. I actually could not have timed it better, even if I tried.

As I walked in, the movie was just starting! What luck! The movie of the day is The Way, directed by Emilio Estevez. I thought it was an interesting story and was glad to have seen it! I completed my 8 miles {free of boredom}, but the movie was still not over. I wasn’t going to just leave 90% into a movie, so I walked on the treadmill for another 1.5 miles or so until it ended. It was a nice, long cool down and way to stay active while watching a movie! The time just flew by!

Also, fun fact. I suffer from “self-diagnosed cinematic-induced narcolepsy.” Yes, I made that term up, but it totally should be a thing. Because I was running, I wasn’t able to fall asleep while watching a movie, as I normally do. Paul laughs at me when we go to the movies, because he knows he is essentially paying for me to take a nap. I can’t help it! 

RAIN= MUST BAKE

After I got home, I knew cookies had to be made. It’s the rule of life. “If it’s raining, thou shalt bake” See? Rule. 

I was in the mood for something gooey and chewy, so I landed on classic oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Perfection. 

ImageBentley agreed. Oatmeal chocolate chip it will be!

Image

              Dough that I ate copious amounts of

This dough is the bomb. I ate wayyyy too much. I would say that there is no such thing as too much cookie dough, but when I knew at 3:30 that I wouldn’t eat dinner tonight because of it, I guess that means I had too much. It was worth it though! Delicious. 

I used the Betty Crocker recipe this afternoon and they turned out very well. I actually set the oven for 340 degrees instead of 350 since I have issues with it running hot. I’m not sure if it was the slight temperature adjustment, or the fact that I used my silicone baking mats, but they baked to perfection. Couldn’t be happier with the outcome!

Image

 

This is my somewhat sad amateur attempt at taking a cute food photography. I wanted it to look festive for St. Patrick’s day tomorrow. Maybe next time will be more successful…

So there you have it. My “perfect paradoxical Sunday,” complete with running and baking. My favorites! Hope your weekend is shaping up to be fantastic 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

