5 Mile Treadmill Workout

Today is sunny and 75 here… I couldn’t be happier!

Which brings me to my next point. Yesterday was also a beautiful day. However, I don’t like running when it’s warm because I’m a freak of nature and easily overheat. So, a treadmill workout ensued!

I wanted the time to pass quickly {because treadmills are boring} so I came up with a way to do just that!

Image

 

In case you can’t figure out what I mean here, I’ll explain a little bit.

For miles 1, 3, and 5, I jogged at a comfortable pace. {The pace you’d be able to keep a conversation going at without losing your breath} For me, that was 5.5 mph. Please set it to what works for you! I’m not the fastest runner, so for me 5.5 is right. These miles are to build endurance and add extra distance. For miles 2 and 4, I wanted to incorporate some HIIT {High- Intensity Interval Training}. This increases your heart rate, makes the time fly, burns more calories, and “mixes things up” so that your muscles have to work harder because they don’t know what’s coming next! I did 2 minutes at a fast pace, then 2 minutes at a slow jog for a total of 10 minutes {3 sprints and 2 jogs}. My speeds were 7.0 and 5.0, respectively. I would finish this at roughly a mile, which works out well for my plan. If you choose to do faster/ slower speeds, you may need to adjust the time accordingly. 

I surprisingly found myself looking forward to miles 2 and 4! This is surprising because they were more difficult; but I liked the feeling of challenging myself some more. Not to mention that they truly made those miles pass so much faster! I think next time I may reverse it and do miles 1, 3, and 5 in an HIIT format!

 

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

  • Do you have any boredom-busting treadmill workouts of your own?
  • High- Intensity Interval Training: like or dislike?
One thought on “5 Mile Treadmill Workout

  1. Pingback: Feeling Better | Running Sweet Tooth

Leave a Reply

