My Big ‘Ole Texan Weekend

This past weekend I was in Texas to celebrate the love of my cousin, Jill, and her now-husband, Brian at their wedding. What a whirlwind!

FRIDAY

I flew in on Friday afternoon to Dallas Love Field Airport. All I can say is WOW. I’ve never been to this airport and was completely blown away. It was the nicest, cleanest, most accommodating airport {free Wifi and outlets at every seat? Yes, please!} I have ever had the pleasure of traveling to. Every other airport out there, take note!

My mom and Paul picked me up and we beelined it for lunch. All three of us had not eaten lunch yet and it was nearly dinner time. We were all starving, to say the least! We happened upon a TexMex place called Casa Cha Cha and decided to stop. It was delicious and we could have all three split a single burrito. They were massive… little did we know when ordering! I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the Dallas/ Richardson area.

When we arrived at our hotel, the concierge gave us a wedding gift bag from the bride and groom! It was such a cute idea! It had a bunch of snacks and gum inside, along with a Texas shaped cookie, and a card with all of the important wedding info on it.

Texas cookie

Later that evening, we met up with some of my relatives and family friends in the hotel. My dad finally arrived around 10 and everyone had a great time catching up and chatting the night away. Plus, I was finally able to meet my cousin’s baby girl, Amelia {Granted she was asleep, but still}!

Paul and I

 

SATURDAY

Needless to say, we slept in very late. Especially for me! My mom, cousin-in-law, Veronica, and I had decided to go for a little run in the morning. Little did we know that the sidewalk surrounding the hotel was a dead end on all sides {along a very busy road}. We ran maybe a single mile until we called it a quits. Not exactly good exercise, but I’d say we get an “A” for effort! I would have finished up a decent run in the hotel gym, but we were on a time constraint because we wanted to have time for lunch and pedicures before the wedding!

I may have eaten that Texas cookie at this point…

Blue tongue!

Where do you suppose we went for lunch? Why, Casa Cha Cha again! We clearly liked the place a lot!

Pedicures followed for us girls. I’m always up for a little pampering 😉 I also can’t believe that I didn’t get a picture of us… guess we were having too much fun!

… GONNA GET MA-A-A-RRIED

We all got ready and my mom and I were finished early! Go us! We took a few pictures before we caught the shuttle to the venue.

My dad and I

My dad and I

Freund family

1/3 of our family

Kristi & Paul

I’m not going to lie… getting all dressed up is one of my favorite things! It just accentuates special occasions in the very best way.

The wedding and reception were in the same venue. It was SO CONVENIENT! As a guest, I was a huge fan of this concept. It made it so nice for everyone to not have to worry about transportation to another location. Great thinking, Jill!

I won’t go into all of the details of everything, but suffice it to say we had a great time and are beyond happy for the bride and groom. It was a very “Pinterest-y” wedding, which I was all about. Some great ideas! {Yes, I am a Pinterest addict… aren’t we all?}

Jill's wedding

My cousin, Jill, and I

We got back to the hotel late {seemed to be a theme of the weekend} and went right to bed. I had to wake up at 6 to make my early flight. Yikes!

I was in Texas for less than 48 hours, but had a blast as always! Texas is always a good time!

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

  • Did anyone else attend a wedding over the weekend?
2 thoughts on “My Big ‘Ole Texan Weekend

  1. Pingback: Weekend Recap | Running Sweet Tooth

  2. Pingback: Weekend Recap | The Other Harper

Leave a Reply

