The Puppies Have ARRIVED!

Big news!

On April 23, Lola went into labor and had her first litter of puppies! It has been an exciting week around here, that’s for sure!

My mom and I helped her deliver all 10 of her beautiful Goldendoodle pups. The first {and largest} was born at 1:03 am and she went all the way until 11am. I think you can conclude that we did not sleep at all that night… and I wouldn’t have had it any other way.

I have to admit, as the first puppy was being born, my heart was beating about 1,000 bpm. Okay, maybe not that fast, but you get the idea! For all of the preparation and research I had done, nothing can prepare you for the real moment. I was certainly in awe the entire time. My adrenaline was pumping full-force and I didn’t ever feel tired, despite being awake for approximately 40 hours straight! I want to reiterate how worth it that was. I love Lola so much, and all of her little “pipsqueaks” too.

Goldendoodle and puppies

Lola with her puppies

Goldendoodle newborn puppy

Lola is an excellent mother, just as we knew she would be. It’s such an amazing and special thing to see πŸ™‚

Lola & Pups Collage.jpg

We have six precious little girls and four handsome boys. They have all already grown so much in a few short days. They are supposed to double in size by the first week; they are well on their way!

During the delivery, there were a few puppies that seemed to be struggling more than the others. I really took the time to make sure they were breathing and able to eat. The first little girl that this happened to {fourth born} almost did not make it. I did everything I could and she ended up living {and is doing splendidly}. Originally, I had told my mom that I wanted a little boy puppy… but after this happened, I am so attached to this one little girl. Although I love them all, I look out for her a little bit extra because of all that we went through. I do believe that she will become my puppy. I cannot even fathom ever selling her to someone else. She was born the smallest, but has grown lots and is now the third smallest. {We weight them all 2x per day to keep track of growth.} Here is me and my little baby ❀

Kristi & Teddy Collage.jpg

 

I am so looking forward to the next two months, watching them all grow and develop their own little personalities {although I swear they already have them!}

Goldendoodle puppies

Goldendoodle puppies

Six little princesses

IMG_4998

 

I will be giving regular puppy updates… you might get sick of them soon πŸ˜‰ Also, I apologize about the poor photo quality. I took allΒ of these pictures with my phone in a dark closet. Better pictures coming soon!

Have a great weekend, everyone!

Leave a Reply

