ROCKLAHOMA

Hi friends!

How is your week going? Mine has been shaping up quite nicely around here.

I’ve been a travelin’ fool lately! As I mentioned before, I was recently in Oklahoma to work a festival. It was a three-day rock concert event called “Rocklahoma.” 

Image

 

Above is a {partial} family photo of my dad, me, my brother Kyle, sister Kayla, and brother Alex. Getting ready for the big weekend!

We worked our butt’s off for three days making fresh-cut fries, chicken nuggets, fried jalapenos, fried pickles, and nachos for the concert-goers. Every night I went back to my hotel smelling like a bucket of grease. Not exactly appealing… ha! Needless to say I won’t be craving anything fried for quite a while!

Image

 

Paul came along to help, too! Couldn’t have done it without him!

We saw pretty much exactly what you would expect at a rock fest. More tattoos and piercings than grains of sand on a beach, epic mullets, interesting outfits {or lack thereof}, and the aroma of camping out for three days. This being said, these were some of the nicest people we have ever served. I would work there again in a heartbeat! It reminds me of how much I enjoyed Oklahoma when we lived there. Same goes for Texas, Missouri, Kansas… etc. Pretty much, if you want to meet genuinely nice people, head on over to the Midwest! You won’t be disappointed!

Image

 

Serving up the nighttime gang! We worked every day from 1pm-2am. They were long days, but passed quickly because we were busy! I would rather work a job where I am busy and barely have time to breath than one where I am standing around bored any day. 

Image

 

Here is Paul and I one day one ready to work! Then again on day three when we were exhausted! So attractive 😉

I wish I had more pictures to share, but to be completely honest, I didn’t have time to be walking around, taking pictures of everything. There were fries that needed plating! 

BEST PART OF THE TRIP

The best part of my trip came on the day after we finished. I haven’t always thought this, but I am truly  fortunate to have moved around so much as a kid. I have good friends all over the country due to living everywhere. Also, thanks to technology, I have been able to keep in touch with these amazing girls that I grew up with for a few years here and there.

Image

I was able to meet my best friend from Oklahoma, Samantha, for lunch on our way back to Georgia. We haven’t seen each other in a decade! We spent pretty much every second possible together in 4th and 5th grade and were quite the pair! Although our time wasn’t nearly long enough, we talked about old stories {that had us both hunched over in tears from laughter} and current life. It was so good to see her again. I hope to see her again soon, and for much longer than over lunch! 

Image

 

PRODUCT SPOTLIGHT

I haven’t done a “product spotlight” in some time now. It slipped my mind, to be honest! But I have something to share from this trip that is worth mentioning. Ultra Red Monster. YUM.

Monster was a sponsor of the event and had a tent and truck set up. I am so happy they were there! 

Just so you know, I am not an “energy drink person.” I rarely drink them, in fact. But since we were up until 5am tearing down our trailer on the last night, I decided having half a can would be beneficial. It is seriously the most delicious drink I have ever tasted! And zero calories? Win in my book! Did it work? Oh yeah. I as literally running back and forth at 4am because I was so awake. That was only from half a can. I’m probably way late on the bandwagon, but if you haven’t ever tried this flavor and are in the market for a good energy drink, I can’t recommend Ultra Red enough! 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

