Old Shawnee Days {Recap}

Well, hello there!

I am back from yet another working excursion! This time, we traveled to the Kansas City area to work a cute little festival called “Old Shawnee Days.”

ROAD TRIPPING

As you can see, my family travels A LOT. Driving 15 hours in one day to “go to work” is the norm. From this drive in particular, I got a few pretty photos… which is surprising because they were shot through a car window traveling 70+ mph!

Midwest Collage.jpg

Midwest

Paul and I made good time, mostly thanks to him driving. {I’m not exactly a speedster} When we arrived in Missouri, we stopped for dinner at a Chick-fil-A. We found something special on the menu that is absent at our greater Atlanta locations… any guesses?

 

IMG_5547

    QUESO!!! 

Delicious and nutritious! Okay, so maybe not nutritious. But we had to try it out! I’m a tough cheese critic {it is my favorite food, after all} and this creamy bowl passed the test. I hope we will be seeing queso on Chick-fil-A menus near home soon!

WORK WORK WORK

The following four days, I spend working our two trailers at the festival. I enjoyed the small-town feel that Old Shawnee Days provided. There was music, child entertainment, a carnival, food, and some neat merchandise available for purchase.

When the weather wasn’t ideal {a storm did blow through} one afternoon, I had the opportunity to look around. I ended up purchasing a few things! From an animal shelter tent, I bought a little doggie collar bow tie for Sawyer {my mom’s puppy} and a neat chew rope for my puppy, Teddy that was crafted by a troop of Girl Scouts. I always like to support animal fostering programs. One main reason {besides me being a huge animal lover} is that all three of my cats were rescues. They bring so much joy to my life and I would want that for everyone! I also bought a bag of homemade granola called “Hippie Chow.” They had six flavors and I ended up with the Chai Spice… Chai and granola combined into one delicious item? YES PLEASE! I’m pretty sure this stuff was made for me 😉 I have a hunch that I will end up buying some more online once I polish off my bag!

Hippie Chow

Besides my brief shopping expedition, I was selling slushies and fries to the fine folks of Shawnee Mission, KS.

As always, you can’t not laugh a lot when my brothers, Paul, and I are together…

 

Working hard, or hardly working?

Working hard, or hardly working?

On two mornings, my dad had sent Paul and I to the restaurant supply store to pick up a few things. We had never been to one before. Let’s just say it was like BJs/Sam’s Club/Costco on steroids! Everything was super-super-super sized! My favorite item was a gigantic wheel of cheese:

IMG_5568Not gonna lie… I totally wanted to buy this for myself! Too bad I don’t actually need 75 pounds of cheese.

Overall, we had a good weekend! I was awfully glad to come home and see my sweet puppies again though 🙂

 

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

  • Has anyone else ever been to a restaurant supply store? What did you think?
  • Do you enjoy long car trips? I do if I don’t have to drive a lot… it’s great reading time!

Talk to you again soon!

 

Leave a Reply

