4th of July Prep

As I’m sure it has been for many of you out there, the past few days around here have been full of preparing for the 4th of July!

NAIL ART

For some reason, celebrating the independence of the United States always makes me want to have super festive nails! I don’t do that for any other holiday… weird, right? Well, I had been scouring Pinterest and Google for the past week to find the perfect nails! {that I’m capable of doing myself} I’m not the most talented nail artist to ever live… mainly because I’m not nearly ambidextrous enough. I sure do give it my best shot, though! This year, my nails look this:

4th Nails Collage

 

I purposely did abstract stripes because I knew the chances of me doing perfect horizontal stripes were slim to none. I think they turned out decently!

Last year, Kayla {my sister} did my nails for me and did a spectacular job!

2013 flag nails

PEACHTREE ROAD RACE HEALTH & FITNESS EXPO

Yesterday, Paul and I attended the Health & Fitness Expo for the Peachtree Road Race! The expo was smaller than we had expected {it is the largest 10k in the world, after all} but still fun to walk around and see what’s out there! Any expo is a good expo, if you ask me 🙂

PRR{photo source}

 A couple of booths that piqued my interest were The Fitness Games booth and Strideline.

The Fitness Games is a fitness app for your {iPhone or Android} phone/tablet that will encourage users to “Workout locally, Compete Globally.” I was immediately interested in this app because you can challenge friends to various workouts! Not only that, but you can challenge people all over the world. The competitive person in me is dying for this app to come out so I can give it a try!

“The New Crew” Strideline socks caught my eye because they had several designs on display… including three Seattle skylines in Seahawks colors. Naturally, I began talking to their salesperson and found out that it is a Washington-based company. Never would have guessed that one 😉 Although I’m not technically a Washingtonian, I identify most with the Pacific Northwest since I lived there for my crucial formative years. I hope this company did well at the expo and had a nice visit to Atlanta!

Picked up my race bib!

Picked up my race bib!

On the drive home, we had a nice view of the Capital building!

Atlanta Capital

4th of JULY PARTY SNACK

I know this is way late to share, but just in case there are any of you out there looking for a super quick and easy dessert to bring to a party or picnic tomorrow, I have a solution for you! I’ve been thinking of the perfect thing to bring to a party tomorrow and it dawned on me a few days ago: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip! It takes literally 5 minutes to make and people will be raving! I even doubled the recipe so that there will be some at my house too.

This recipe is not an original; however, I found the exact same measurements on at least 5 websites.

CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIE DOUGH DIP

  • 1 block of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 stick butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips

Combine the butter and cream cheese with a mixer. Slowly add in the remaining ingredients, saving the chocolate chips for last. When thoroughly combined, enjoy with your choice of graham crackers, animal crackers, Nilla wafers, or any other treat you might like with it!

 

Well, I’ll catch up with you crazy kids again in a couple of days. Can’t wait to run The Peachtree tomorrow morning! The weather is looking as perfect as a July in Atlanta can be! Enjoy your holiday weekend, eats lots of good food, and be safe with the fireworks!

2 thoughts on “4th of July Prep

Leave a Reply

