#IceBucketChallenge

Good afternoon!

If you’re on social media at all, you are most likely well-aware of the “Ice Bucket Challenge” that has been circulating recently.

Just last week Paul and I were talking about how big it’s gotten. I had made the comment that “I don’t think anyone I know will pick me” based on the fact that the challenge had yet to enter the circle of my closest friends. Well, it looks as though I spoke too soon! Yesterday afternoon, I was nominated by my friend Katy. Maybe I shouldn’t have said that 😉

Ice Bucket Challenge

I decided to go forth with the challenge and pour a bucket of ice and water over my head! I was more worried about the speaking portion of the challenge {I tend to get super awkward if there is a video in progress} than the actual ice bucket. It’s funny, because I will happily take pictures all day long! But add talking and a new element of horror arises!

WHAT IS THE “ICE BUCKET CHALLENGE?”

I must admit that before yesterday, I didn’t really understand the purpose of this whole thing. I’ve seen it all over Facebook and Instagram, yet didn’t know much about it besides the donations are going towards ALS research. I figure that if I was in the dark, some of you out there may be as well!

The rules are simple: Pour a bucket of ice and water over your head within 24 hours of nomination, then choose 3-4 friends to do the same. All on video, of course! If you do not accept the challenge, you are supposed to donate $100+ do any ALS research foundation of your choice.

WHAT IS ALS?

I did a little research and found out that ALS stands for Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis; also called “Lou Gehrig’s Disease.” It is an unfortunate disease in which motor neurons degenerate and the muscles atrophy from lack of use. This disease is degenerative and ultimately leads to the motor neurons {that control muscles} to completely die. There are a host of problems, including muscle weakness, twitching, voice projection difficulty, and difficulty breathing/swallowing in advanced stages. Paralysis is the end result of ALS, before death.

Currently, there is no cure or treatment for ALS. That is why a huge fundraising campaign is so important.

PETE FRATES

The campaign was started by a former Boston college baseball player, Peter Frates. He is currently 29 years old and has been diagnosed with ALS. He was told he has 2-5 years to live. Peter has a young baby and a wife. I won’t say much more about him, because I feel as though I cannot do this courageous man justice. Please read his short biographical here.

In addition, the Frates family has set up the “Pete Frates #3 Fund” to raise awareness of ALS. They are blown away by how big their campaign has become.

Keep up with the good work for the challenge and remember the reason why you are pouring that ice over your head!

Here is my super embarrassing video 🙂

 

Information Sources:

 

Leave a Reply

