Southwest-Inspired Breakfast Sandwich

Hi there, friends!

Today I’ve got a quick, simple, and nutritious breakfast to share with you!

MORNING HAPPENINGS

But first, let’s recap the morning! Dogs woke me up {as always} and I took them all out… only to find that the weather was ideal! It was 59 degrees {In Georgia. In August. Whaaaaat?!?} and low-levels of humidity {for us}. I knew I had to get out there as soon as possible to enjoy before it warmed up! Enjoy I did. My mood is so greatly affected by the weather. Kind of pathetic, but it is what it is. Needless to say, I’m in quite the excellent mood this afternoon 🙂

Following my run this morning, I was feeling a good breakfast. And not just an English Muffin with peanut butter… I’m getting sick of that for the moment. I decided to change it up a little by making an egg sandwich. Here is the recipe for what I made:

Southwest Egg Sandwich

SOUTHWEST-INSPIRED EGG SANDWICH

  • 1 English Muffin, toasted {I used whole wheat}
  • 1 egg
  • 1 slice of cheese, your choice {I used Colby Jack}
  • 2 slices roasted deli turkey
  • 1 Tbsp. salsa
  • *Avocado slices {optional}
  • Salt and pepper to taste

The directions on how to make this pretty much go without saying, but I want to show how I cook the egg to keep it from falling apart.

Turkey and egg

As soon as the egg hits the pan, I use a spatula to prevent spreading. This way it all cooks in one lump and is fits perfectly on your muffin/bagel/bread. I flip it once to ensure all of the egg is completely cooked. Or, you can do this or this as well. For me, I like less steps and my method works just fine!

Once the turkey and egg are cooked, I add the slice of cheese over the egg to melt. Then you just have to assemble your sandwich!

Egg Sandwich faceout

I wanted to add avocado slices to my sandwich, only to find out the the one avocado I had left had gone bad. Bummer! Those little guys are so temperamental! Reminded me of this:

After eating my delicious sandwich, I felt satisfied. Got in some quality protein, fiber, carbs, and dairy. {Avocado would add some healthy fats as well} Breakfast win!

Have a fantastic Thursday! The puppies have a vet appointment this afternoon… BIG day for us!

Leave a Reply

