My Sweet, Sweet Valentine

Hello, all you lovebirds out there! I hope your Valentine’s Day weekend was filled with the ones you love most ❤

Sweet Tooth Fulfillment 

On Friday at work, the Valentine spirit began a day early! Throughout the day, I collected quite a few treats {that I may have indulged in without regret…).

IMG_8311

I received even more after this picture was snapped, but you get the general idea. My favorite was the EOS lip balm that my thoughtful boss purchased for everyone. What a great idea! I left work on Friday feeling the love and looking forward to the weekend ahead!

A COUPLE OF MY LOVES

Saturday morning began with a couple of my loves… exercise and catching up with a friend! My friend Jade and I met up in Atlanta to do a 5 mile run around Piedmont Park and have a Starbucks date to follow.

As far as the run went… I struggled. Big time. Which is not exactly a good feeling when you have both a 10k AND a half marathon in the next week {Glass Slipper Challenge, here I come!} After 2 miles I already felt tired and sluggish… but pushed through until we made it to 5. My best guess as to why my run felt like poo is that 1) I hadn’t hydrated properly beforehand and was dying of thirst and 2) I ran the day before and tend to do better when I’m more well-rested. But then again, who knows!

I was just glad to rehydrate with a large water along with my favorite drink. Anyone know what that might be? A chai tea latte. Comfort in a cup!

IMG_8313YES. We ended up chatting away for two hours… how time flies when you’re having fun! Then I drove back home to finish up some Valentine’s baking, pick up a gift from my mom, and get ready for my dinner date with Paul.

IMG_8315

Chocolate peanut butter cupcake from mom! I’m one lucky girl 🙂 She is the BEST!

VALENTINE’S DAY DINNER DATE

I arrived home to a dozen red roses {awwwwwwh} from Paul. I don’t care if I’m cliche {or “basic”}, I adore fresh flowers. They are so beautiful and never fail to make me happy. This was the first time in my life that I have ever been given red roses… I don’t know why I feel like this is a significant fact, but I do! To me, red roses just say “I love you.” Does anyone else feel that way, or is that just me?

IMG_8334

I took a shower and got ready. The dinner location was a surprise for me, so I was eagerly awaiting to find out where we were going!

IMG_8327

Paul had made reservations at a steak house called Parker’s on Ponce in Decatur. Neither of us had ever been there before and from the moment we walked in, we knew we were in for a treat. There were several fireplaces lit, live piano music quietly setting the mood, and couples grinning at each other all around. I took some pictures of our food without my flash because I didn’t want to be obnoxious, but they were way too dim to post. I’d recommend looking up their website to see how impressive each dish truly was.

As an appetizer, we started with the Short Rib & Ricotta Stuffed Piquillo. Oh my gosh, that was delicious! I would recommend that appetizer to anyone in a heartbeat! It was rich, creamy, and had a “melt in your mouth” quality. As a main course, I got the 6 oz. Filet Mignon with Blue Cheese Butter on top. Wow. Simply incredible. Paul enjoyed the NY Strip Steak Oscar with a Loaded Baked Potato on the side. Although we were stuffed, we decided that dessert on Valentine’s Day could not be ignored! The Chocolate Lava Cake was our dessert of choice. It was as delectable as it sounds! I am so thankful to Paul for treating me to such a special dinner. It was without a doubt one for the books!

FURRY VALENTINE

A time to celebrate love would not be complete without my little red-headed love… Teddy!

IMG_8332

IMG_8336 IMG_8339

Paul and I took Teddy and Toby to the dog park for a little playtime today. It was chilly, but the sun was shining! Teddy bear loves her soccer ball! She also loves kisses from me 🙂

That pretty much concludes our Valentine’s Day weekend! I had such a great time and am reminded once again how lucky I am to be surrounded by my loves. I hope each and every one of you feel the same!

JOIN THE CONVERSATION

  • Did you go to a fancy Valentine’s Day dinner as well?
  • Do you also receive/ give out Valentine’s Day treats at work?

I’ll be back soon to share my prep for the Disney Princess Half Marathon taking place next weekend!

Leave a Reply

